NOAA Logo

NWS Logo

Organizations

Space Weather Prediction Center

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Sunday, October 26, 2014 01:49:37

Main menu

NOAA Scales

minimize icon
Space Weather Conditions
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Yesterday
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Today's Max Observed
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Now
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Predicted: Rest of Today
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
Tomorrow
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
maximize icon
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Current Space Weather Conditions
R1 (Minor) Radio Blackout Impacts
close
HF Radio: Weak or minor degradation of HF radio communication on sunlit side, occasional loss of radio contact.
Navigation: Low-frequency navigation signals degraded for brief intervals.
More about the NOAA Space Weather Scales

Space Weather Summary

  • Solar Wind Speed: km/sec
  • Solar Wind Magnetic Fields: Bt nT, Bz nT
  • Noon 10.7cm Radio Flux: sfu

Slider

R3 (Strong) Radio Blackout
Region 12192 Biggest Since 1990
An announcement to take a survey of the new webpage

Region 2192 has erupted with its second R3 (Strong)

The R3 (Strong) Radio Blackout that began at 5:07 pm EDT (2107 UTC) peaked at X3.1 at 5:41 pm EDT (2141 UTC).

Active Region 12192 is the largest region since November 18, 1990, a full two solar cycles ago.

As the Space Weather Prediction Center prepares to make its new website operational near the end of October, we are pleased to announce the availab

Serving Essential Space Weather Communities

The Sun's X-Rays

Solar X-Ray Imager Image

Coronal Mass Ejections

LASCO C3 Coronagraph Image

The Aurora

Aurora ovation plot

GOES X-Ray Flux

GOES X-Ray flux plot

GOES Proton Flux

GOES Proton Flux plot

Estimated Planetary K-Index

Planetary K Index plot